Hi,
I want to start learning Bass. Currently I've got no experience playing any kind of stringed instrument, so I'm a newbie.

I like a lot of different musical styles from Metal to Blues, but probably later on I will mainly play metal and rock.

From the research I've done so far, I was thinking in obtaining a Ibanez bass. theoretically they will allow me to evolve for a while, will not fall apart easily, and I've heard that they were better suited for me compared to other brands since they had a slim neck and I don't have big hands.

From what I've seen, I was inclined to buy the GSR200L (I'm a lefty) or the SR300L. Recently I've found that Ibanez has a new entry line Bass the GSR180L. I don't know if it's any good or not.

What do you guys recommend? Is Ibanez a good choice for my musical style? Are these models any good?
I'm willing to spend on the bass up to 250€ (around $340 US)

Thanks for the help
you aren't going to go 'wrong' with any of the basses you listed, if at all possible try them out and try a few others within the price range, perhaps yamaha, squier or peavey. get a feel for what is out there and start building up your own preferences for the future.
DONT RISK IT, BUY A BASS AMP
well, the issue is a bit there in the testing part.
The shops here have very few to none lefty models available on the store itself. Most of the time they must be specially ordered from the supplier by the store.

From the 3 models I've spoke about, I've never seen any of them on store for example.
Yesterday I've seen that a store that I had checked a while ago now seams to have on its website the GSR200L for sale. Lets suppose that they have it on store to try, what should I exactly try to see?

I don't have any idea of what to do to see if a bass is good or not =/

PS: just found the GSR180L on another store much cheaper (208€ against the 280€ from the GSR200L) what is the main difference between the GSR180L and the GSR200L? does it justify the 72€ in difference?