I started playing guitar a couple of years ago and all this time, I've basically tried to learn songs through reading tabs. Sure, I've improved a lot since I started. Taking small lessons on youtube on how to do pinch harmonics and such. I feel pretty comfortable with my playing.

Lately however, I feel that I'm not actually accomplishing something new. I play songs I kind of already know and after that, I put my guitar down. I've decided that I want to leave this for a while and go straight to learning new stuff I never understood before.

So lets get this straight. I have no freaking clue on how all these "scales" and "keys" work. I barely even know what they are. I dont know where to start, what places to look at etc. I know it's very important to learn these things when you want to create your own songs, solos, riffs etc and thats exactly what I want to do next.

I'm playing in either drop B or A# tuning, and If I've understood correct. The scales for E standard does not work on these tunings, or I'm completely off?

If you have tips on GOOD threads and sites or just want to explain here, go ahead.

Appreciate all help I can get
I would probably get a good, basic music theory book* (assuming you're willing to buy a book). Don't laugh, but i found "the complete idiot's guide to music theory" to be pretty good. It's general, rather than guitar-based, but I found it pretty good. Admittedly I also play piano, so the fact it's not guitar-based wasn't a problem for me, so bear that in mind.

David Mead's "Scales and Chords for guitarists" (that might not be the exact title, it's along those lines, though) is pretty good, too.

I haven't read it but I think i've heard good things about "music theory" by tom kolb, too. (it's guitar-specific)