I've been a drummer for a long time and i decided i wanted to play guitar, so i taught myself and still am and i bought a Schecter Damien Platinum FR 6 guitar near the beginning of this year and it sounded great. One day i noticed that it didnt sound as good and a friend of mine said it was probably because when i bought it i didnt have it set up at the time so i went and got that done and had it tuned to standard because i didnt know what it was in before, it wasnt standard :l. It sounded (to me) bad but i thought it was because i wasnt used to that tuning but i never got used to it. So one day i looked up how to re turn a Floyd and tried it.....skipping details i failed got new strings and tried it again and it worked. But still sounds terrible.
All the notes are fine tuned to how i want it and it sounds good if i play a single note. When i try playing a chord or most anything else it sounds like absolute shit. And i dont know anything else about Floyds to attempt to fix it and i dont have $60 to take it in again, my friend said it could be intonation problems which... i have no idea what that means.
I've been thinking about trying to trade it in or sell it and getting a guitar without a Floyd but i like this guitar and if i can fix the problem with relative ease i'd like to..
Does anyone have any comments that could possibly be the cause of my guitar sounding how it is or what i could do?
Anything would be appreciated, thank you.
When you talk about needing a set up and "went and got that done and had it tuned to standard", I assume you took it to a shop? Go do that again and say to them your intonation seems to be out of whack. If it's still playing up request a refund and find a different shop/tech.
"Air created the greenness. And once you've got something, that leads to otherness." - Karl Pilkington.
yeah if multiple notes sound bad there's a fair chance it's intonation.

a pro setup at a shop should've included intonation adjustment. EDIT: ninjaed.