I'm going to get my first 'real' amp in a few months time and I was wondering how I would be able to record using it without a microphone because most of the time when I record it's quite late and I wouldn't be able to mic it up. Right now I'm using a Peavey Vypyr and I usually just use the line out port direct to my sound card and simply record that way using the on board cab sim.

Obviously, most amps and amp heads don't have line out ports so I was wondering if it was possible to record using the FX send of an amp and possibly use impulses in place of a cab? If so, could I simply use a 1/4" to 1/8" jack adapter and connect the amp straight to my sound card, or would I need some sort of DI device? Also, would I still need a cab?

I think these questions might be a little noob-ish but my experience with heads and cabs is non existent as I've never used them before!
Gear:
Epiphone Les Paul Standard
Godin Velocity
Peavey Vypyr 15 Watt
AMT WH1 Japanese Girl Wah
Marshall BB-2 Boost/OD
Joyo JF-07 Classic Flanger
Joyo JF-37 Analog Chorus
Last edited by BlueIceBox at Oct 31, 2013,
Using FX out then through an interface and finally a cab simulator WILL absolutely work.

When you say 'sound card' do you mean the one inside your computer, or do you have an audio interface? You'll need a real interface for it to sound halfway decent, the soundcard will mangle anything you put through it, and everything will come out sounding like fizzy butt.
Telecaster - SG - Jaguar
Princeton Reverb, Extra Reverb
P-Bass - Mustang Bass
Apogee Duet 2 - Ableton Suite
Quote by Sid McCall
Using FX out then through an interface and finally a cab simulator WILL absolutely work.

When you say 'sound card' do you mean the one inside your computer, or do you have an audio interface? You'll need a real interface for it to sound halfway decent, the soundcard will mangle anything you put through it, and everything will come out sounding like fizzy butt.

+1