I am starting to look around for a used SG on craigs. I do not know very much about the value of them used. Do they follow close to the same used value as a strat might? Meaning the standard $1299 model in good shape used would hit about $750-$800 used? I realize this is a very broad question with many variables... i just mean in general.

There is a 2002 Standard SG (heritage cherry) that has upgraded pickups but comes with the originals as well in mint condition for $850. I was going to roll up with $750 (or $775) and see where it goes after i play it a little. Thoughts? I am a complete noob in the Gibson SG world, i have had many other guitars but never an SG for some reason so ANY input would be appreciated.
Quote by BlackVoid
Every guitar and bass forum I've visited has some people chasing some magical tone that will shoot jizzing unicorns riding on a rainbow out of their amp.
That's a fair offer. I bought my Cherry '03 SG Standard in '05 for $600 in brand new condition with the case and everything. Not a scratch on it. That was a VERY good deal, especially considering how new it was.

Anything from $700-800 is fair for that guitar, you're not getting ripped off at $850, I can tell you that much. Remember that for a while (and maybe still?) the heritage cherry finish is an extra cost at retail. Also, you're getting bonus pickups. They have very low resale for some reason, so take advantage of that and get a killer guitar!
Telecaster - SG - Jaguar
Princeton Reverb, Extra Reverb
P-Bass - Mustang Bass
Apogee Duet 2 - Ableton Suite
Quote by JustRooster
https://www.ultimate-guitar.com/forum/showthread.php?p=32051700#post32051700

That's a link to the big UG users thread. Asking about prices there might be a good choice. That price seems about fair, if maybe a little bloated. I'd offer $750. He may deny you at first, but that kind of cash offer will sit in a seller's mind for a few days.