Page 1 of 2
I'm a beginner to intermediate player. I know the Chromatic scale fairly well. I also am learning the triad forms across the neck.

I notice when I write songs I simply impose the triads over the corresponding chromatic notes. I really don't need to memorize chord progressions.

What do you think about this idea?
Quote by antics32
I'm a beginner to intermediate player. I know the Chromatic scale fairly well. I also am learning the triad forms across the neck.

I notice when I write songs I simply impose the triads over the corresponding chromatic notes. I really don't need to memorize chord progressions.

What do you think about this idea?

So you know half the alphabet

Congratulations, you've just passed kindergarten
Quote by Night
wtf is a selfie? is that like, touching yourself or something?
Quote by Wiegenlied

So the alphabet you use only utilizes 14 letters then?
How can you know the chromatic scale only fairly well?

e---/12---/0

There you go.

so troll
Last edited by Baby Joel at Nov 4, 2013,
I don't get what you mean? Can you please explain? I do know the natural minor triads and the natural major triads. I'm learning the seventh forms. I can derive the modes from the major scale.

I'm new to guitar but I did play clarinet and saxophone for about ten years.
Quote by Wiegenlied

We have sharps and flats in our letters?

Sinc#eb whe#n?!
We're all alright!
They're just giving you shit for saying you know the chromatic scale fairly well. If your idea works for you then stick with it, I prefer knowing my progressions I'm soloing over. Not all chord progressions follow diatonic notes as I'm sure you know and it seems that's what your post is saying.
I think you mean the diatonic scales. The chromatic scale is the set of all notes (A, A#, B, C, C#, etc.).