So I recently started playing again after a year hiatus and I just realized that after a drink or two I am able to play songs more accurately, smoothly and even faster without getting stiff or fatigued, why?
well, after maybe a drink or two (basically a minor buzz), youve basically gotten to the perfect point for musical, or any kind of performance; your motor skills and reaction time arent impaired, but a small amount of alcohol relaxes your nervous system. basically, you relax in a way that isnt too much, but yet you overcome your mental stresses

long story short, youre "drunk" enough to overcome even the most sub-conscious mental pressures of "that hard part" or "not screwing up", without impairing your actual physical ability

fyi, ive been on said level as ive been typing this whole thing. by all means, go ahead and tell me if i seemed drunk or inarticulate at any time. i promise you, a small buzz is your friend (unless youre a singer/screamer, in which case alcohol is your worst enemy)
Last edited by pAWNlol at Nov 8, 2013,
I'm gonna take a shot in the dark and guess that you aren't actually playing any better, but it sounds better to you because the drink is relaxing and you aren't in the kind of state of mind where you're criticizing everything you do.

I've never heard someone recorded who has sounded better drunk than sober.
Quote by Geldin
I'm gonna take a shot in the dark and guess that you aren't actually playing any better, but it sounds better to you because the drink is relaxing and you aren't in the kind of state of mind where you're criticizing everything you do.

well, if he actually meant drunk then definitely no, nobody does anything better full-out drunk other than make an idiot of themselves. but he said "a drink or two", which tells me he isnt drunk, but rather buzzed. i can personally vouch that i KNOW i (as well as other people) do a lot of things better buzzed