I have a bad habit of getting carried away with things like this but here goes nuttin'.

So I've been playing for just about 5 years. Recently I joined my buddy's band after there was a falling out with their last guitarist. As a result I've been inspired to really start writing and coming up with stuff I'm really proud of. I've thrown around riffs here and there and some stuff has been really cool. But as soon as I began to try and throw down a lead or even start up something simple I came to a discouraging conclusion...

I have not a single clue what I'm doing. As a result, I'm very much trapped in the dreaded rut guitarists have at some stage in their musical career. Me trying to play a lead over a track (ex. The track Keith Merrow wrote for the Mayones/Duncan contest) is similar to a 4-year old trying to find the light switch he's too short to reach in a dark room. You've really no idea where to go next, lost, and eventually just wind up hiding in a box somewhere. As a result I end up desperately trying to find the key to whatever I'm playing to, spend a good couple of seconds hitting sour notes trying to find it, actually FINDING it, then hoping messing around in 1st position minor pentatonic will be diverse enough for me....it never is.

I've tried focusing on a single track (the one I mentioned above) by playing it over and over and just playing note for note seeing if I can come up with something I like. Not only do I absolutely hate this method but it doesn't work out for me at all. About 4 hours had past and I had not a single cool lick, or at least anything I liked.

I know there's no real quick fix to this and I don't expect there to be one, but I'd like to know what exactly my options are here, like what I need to do and learn that'll make writing leads as a whole a much simpler process for myself...because I'm at a loss.
Well I would recommend learning the other minor pentatonic positions first.