Hey gents,

I've been playing guitar for roughly 7 years, and in that time, writing has always been my favorite part of it. I've always loved it, never had difficulty writing...until the past year or so. I sat down this morning for FIVE HOURS trying to add one measly measure to a riff, and just couldn't do it. Nothing I tried sounded good. Whenever I try writing anymore, I just get pissed off at myself that I can't write anything that sounds 'good' to me like I used to. The last song I wrote that I thoroughly enjoyed was over 2 years ago. Can creativity in a person just die, or can musicians really just experience blocks that last, well, years?
I think you just need a push. Some kind of emotion, or just an opinion about something. I mean, if you want to write something to that riff, ask yourself a question, why you want to add anything. If you don't know why and the only reason is "to add something", you have the answer.

If I were you, I'd try to play that song for about a half an hour at least, and improvise a lot around the melodies you wrote untill now.

Maybe try learning some music theory on composition?

Try
Try
Try

EDIT: http://www.musicradar.com/news/acoustic/40-ways-to-write-better-songs-581048 It can be quite useful
another possibility is that your standards are getting higher
I'm an idiot and I accidentally clicked the "Remove all subscriptions" button. If it seems like I'm ignoring you, I'm not, I'm just no longer subscribed to the thread. If you quote me or do the @user thing at me, hopefully it'll notify me through my notifications and I'll get back to you.
Quote by K33nbl4d3
I'll have to put the Classic T models on my to-try list. Shame the finish options there are Anachronism Gold, Nuclear Waste and Aged Clown, because in principle the plaintop is right up my alley.

Quote by K33nbl4d3
Presumably because the CCF (Combined Corksniffing Forces) of MLP and Gibson forums would rise up against them, plunging the land into war.

Quote by T00DEEPBLUE