When you're holding the pick where should your index finger be relative to the pick?

There are thousands of pictures showing how to pick but only on the thumb side.

Do you hold the pick on the SIDE of the finger TIP?

Or do you hold the pick on the side of the part of the finger thats right below the knuckle?

I've been holding it like the way in the 3rd/4th pictures but I get the feeling that Im wrong.

Embarrassing since I've been playing for four years now.
Either is fine, it's unlikely to be a detail that matters that much unless you're already in the top 5% of pickers in the world.
R.I.P. My Signature. Lost to us in the great Signature Massacre of 2014.

Quote by Master Foo
“A man who mistakes secrets for knowledge is like a man who, seeking light, hugs a candle so closely that he smothers it and burns his hand.”

Album.
Legion.
I use three fingers because I'm special Since I tried it, I can't go back to the normal way
There is thousands of differents ways to hold a pick. Sometimes, I use three fingers too, and sometimes I'm holding it only between my thumb and my middle finger. So i don't know if there is a real answer to your question ^^

I use these beasts, holding them with two fingers and my thumb. And yet, I still drop them from time to time.....

(OK, they're really not THAT big...)
Last edited by Captaincranky at Nov 15, 2013,
What's important when it comes down to picking is holding it the most comfortable way to YOU and listen to the TONE .
Quote by ibzshredder
What's important when it comes down to picking i....[ ].....and listen to the TONE .
To be fair, a good chunk of the tone, comes from your choice of pick, regardless of how you hold it.
Quote by Captaincranky
To be fair, a good chunk of the tone, comes from your choice of pick, regardless of how you hold it.

really ? I have always considered that it wasn't important at all ! And how do you make your choice please ?
Quote by _tim*