I'm not a guitar expert by any means, so everything I say might sound ******ed.

This is just a crappy Chinese no-name guitar, and I wish to replace the neck. I have a bolt on neck sitting around, with what appears to be the same size neck joint.

The neck joint pictured looks like it's just a bolt on, but the bolts are covered. Or is it actually a set neck?

Thank you for any serious answers.
Attachments:
WP_20131116_001[1].jpg
"I think, as a musician, you should practice your technique to be as good as you need to be to facilitate whatever ideas come into your head."
- Devin Townsend
Quote by Explorerbuilder
How does it look "like the bolts are covered"? Looks like a set neck to me.
I'll never underestimate the Chinese building techniques of anything. As I said, I'm not a guitar expert, and I'm sure there have been some interesting Chinese guitar builds.

So it wouldn't be worth the effort to try and put a different neck on this guitar?
"I think, as a musician, you should practice your technique to be as good as you need to be to facilitate whatever ideas come into your head."
- Devin Townsend
If you are ditching the neck thats on it already then its really just a case of taking the fretboard off, removing the truss rod and then routing out the old neck and shaping the neck pocket.....in general set necks are deeper than bolt on so it is doubtful your bolt on with sit at the right height (although thats not to hard to change) and the thickness of the wood left could be a bit weak as well so your best bet is to only rout as deep as you need for the new neck and just hope that the old neck was glued in well so the wood underneath is nice and strong....

Is it a firebird of some kind????.....what is it about the neck you don't like???
Quote by sytharnia1560