Hello everybody..

As the title says, I'm an intermediate guitarist that's willing to learn some bass.
Music-wise I can play and jam on a good level on rock/blues/pop tunes, I understand some jazz and funky but I'd say I'm a beginner on those music genres.
Technic-wise I know how to build chords, how to use the major and the minor scales and how to harmonize them.

So this is my background..
When I play the bass, btw, it's clear that it's not my main instrument.. I play it as I would play a guitar, not strumming chords, but you can tell that it's not the proper style.
I understand that this is very subjective and one should search for its own approach to the instrument, but right now I'm not experienced enough to say that.

What am I missing?
You're not really doing anything wrong by playing the bass like a guitar. You can even play chords on it. Look at Lemmy. Or at Robert from Metallica.

Practice.

Experiment with fingerstyle and picking.

Can you play slap?

There is no proper style. Style is something personal and unique.

You might not have the proper technique.

The left hand has to work good. Press the strings just behind the fret. After strumming the string you can let it go to cut the sound or hold it for sustain, same as on guitar.

The right hand is mainly the rhythm. Your rhythm has to be near perfect at all times. And if you should fall out, you should be quick to going back. A half second is the maximum.

Don't be afraid to play a bassline differently than the original.

Experiment with octaves - they are the most basic 'trick' a bass player uses to make his sound more interesting.

And use fifth notes.

And power chords.

Experiment by combining whole, half, quarter, eight and sixteenth notes - all during the same line.

I can't help you any further without knowing your exact problem or hearing what you're playing.