Hello,

I am 18 years old. I have been playing guitar for 6 years. I am male.

In the past month, I have developed a very noticeable pain in my left thumb. My left thumb feels weak, and it hurts especially when I play guitar.

I took a 5 day break from playing guitar and when I started again the pain had not diminished at all.

I am worried.

Music is my passion, and guitar is my love. I've spent so much time playing and learning the guitar, and now I am entering a crisis! Will I have to give up the guitar?? This is my nightmare..

I wish my thumb would just heal and I could play like I used to. Will my thumb heal? What can I do in this situation?? Should I see a doctor?
Well, some semi-educated guesses would be: Cartilage damage, tendonitis, a bone spur.

None of these will cure themselves in a few days, and a bone spur is likely a surgical issue.

One thing is certain, nobody in UG will be able to talk the issue away. In fact, we're not really allowed to try.

So, get on that horse named, "Obama Care", and gallop to a doctor, ASAP.

One point, sometimes our bodies aren't up to the task of making us a famous as we'd hope to be. Some people can play for hours and hours a day, for others one or two is too many.

I will say that how well your guitar is setup, and the gauge of the strings can be an aggravating factor.
Last edited by Captaincranky at Nov 16, 2013,
Quote by Captaincranky
Well, some semi-educated guesses would be: Cartilage damage, tendonitis, a bone spur.

None of these will cure themselves in a few days, and a bone spur is likely a surgical issue.

One thing is certain, nobody in UG will be able to talk the issue away. In fact, we're not really allowed to try.

So, get on that horse named, "Obama Care", and gallop to a doctor, ASAP.

One point, sometimes our bodies aren't up to the task of making us a famous as we'd hope to be. Some people can play for hours and hours a day, for others one or two is too many.