Hi guys,
I am new to this thread and forum, and I am on the verge of buying a new or excellent used acoustic/electric guitar before the Holidays.

I love the Taylor neck and finish, and am looking at the 300 and 400 series solid wood bodies, but not the Dreadnaught so much. I prefer a GA or GC size and playability. I am also looking at the Larrivee LV-03, LV-05 and LV-09 (not sure what shape these designate? I am also considering a used Guild F-30CE, but have not played the Larrivees or the Guild yet. I know it will come down to personal feel and appeal

I am doing this for the therapy of playing more than for a career option, and am just starting again after laying off for 5-6 years. I am trying to rebuild my song memories and my fret callouses, to enjoy playing again, so I am looking for a silky smooth action, good tone for a living room venue, and will probably be playing mostly solo.

I know the Taylors are "bright", especially with .010s, which I prefer now, but I have some Cleartone .011s to try next . . .
If anybody has experience with any of these guitars, please give me some feedback?
Happy Holidays,
Larry
welcome in Larry. i can't speak much of the larrivees as i've never tried them. i do like guilds but have very limited experience with them.
the taylors... i can help you with them. i currently have 2 GA's, 2 GS' and a dread.
of all the bodystyles, i much prefer the larger Grand Symphony body. the smaller GA is more comfortable to play, the dread is too big for me but the GS... just like goldilock's preferences.... just right.
the GS tames the overly brightness of the taylor without giving up any of the crispness and clarity. it's a fantastic strummer and a very good fingerstyle guitar. the tonewoods i leave up to you. i myself prefer my 616ce the most. it's maple back and sides sound great with the larger body. the perfect marriage of material and size. maple in the smaller GA is just a bit too bright.
need more gear and a lot more talent(courtesytuxs)