First a little bio. I'm an electrician by occupation and advanced hobbyist woodworker for fun. I can read electrical schematics and solder well. I can make just about anything in wood and am pretty skilled finishing what I make. I even have a spray booth in the basement. But in the world of guitars, I lost track in the early 70's. So I have a lot of questions.

The guitar kit would be for my SO's son. He has a Fender Telecaster Deluxe, a Fender Acoustic and an electric/acoustic mandolin. We were thinking of giving him a guitar kit that I can help him customize to his heart's delight. But it would have to be better than what he has.

I was on the BYO Guitars website and saw they have a Fender ST licensed body and neck kit for $249. I was thinking of upgrading to the Seymour Duncan Everything Axe pickups, the Grover Locking Rotomatic tuners, the Wilkinson Vintage Tremolo and a few other upgrades for aesthetics.

His present Fender has Humbucker pickups and I thought the SD Axe pickups would give him some variety over what he has now. I like the idea he can finish the body the way he wants. I was thinking either rosewood or ebony on the fingerboard.

My questions are:
1. Would he get as good a sound from something like this as he would from a $600-$700 guitar or better?

2. Is there anything about the assembly that could go wrong and ruin the guitar, given my experience as listed above?

3. Has anyone ever done a first-time build and NOT had to go back and fix problems?

4. Would a kit like this be worth the investment or could it possibly end up in a corner collecting dust?

5. For those who think building your own is a good route to go, are there any changes you'd make to the build? If so, why?

Thanks in advance for your help!

A couple of those questions interest me as well.
Squier "VMC" Stratocaster
PRS SE Singlecut
tc electronic polytune
CMAT MODS Signa Drive
Blakemore Effects Deus Ex Machina
DIY gaussmarkov Dr. Boogey
EHX Small Clone
Mooer ShimVerb