I'm just here to post something that I have discovered that works for me really well. For the longest time I've been trying to find a way to beef up a single tracked direct input recording. Every little "Trick" I've found on the internet still makes my guitar tracks sound weak and not full. The way I have fixed this problem is that i copy and paste the track so that it's on SIX different tracks. I pan them: 100% Left. 40% Left. 20% Left. 100% Right. 40% right. and 20% left. After doing the panning like this, the volume will be extremely high, so you're going to ave to adjust the volume of each track accordingly. I also add a LITTLE bit more drive/gain to each individual track. This trick works for me and I hope it is useful for all of you c:
I am fairly sure you're just making the track louder. It's remotely possible that crosstalk between speakers/ears might help it sound bigger, but realistically it's just louder. Double tracking is the way forward.
I'm kinda new to recording. I was just posting because this seems to work for me i mean, it sounds nice and it feels really thick to me i know double tracking is the way to go, but for some songs it can be fairly difficult
It doesn't work.

Sorry to burst your bubble. All you're doing by copying and pasting is making the track louder, each copy gives a few DB boost, all you're doing it making it louder AND reducing stereo field. No matter how far you pan two identical part's they'll still be mono, simply because the same thing is coming out of both speakers.

If you're not going to double track, then don't bother. Sorry to be harsh, but it's just gotta be done. If you can't double track your parts, then you need to learn them better!
All I want is for everyone to go to hell...
...It's the last place I was seen before I lost myself

Quote by DisarmGoliath
You can be the deputy llamma of the recordings forum!
I'm a big fan of adding a million layers but I'm going to play devil's advocate...