Hi there,

I am a very average guitarist playing a dozen or so chords.
I do not have much technical knowledge of accessories beyond the on/off switch.

I want to purchase a multi-channel recorder so that I can try recording backing chords
to a song, then pick the tune whilst playing the chords back through my Fender amplifier.
I do not have access to a computer in the room where I play my guitar, but there is one in the house.

I obviously do not want to buy something which is professional standard and containing features that I would never use (or understand), but I do want to experiment a bit and maybe add drums etc.

I am confused by the range of product available and the language used to describe the specifications.

Could anyone advise me please?

Much appreciated.

Alf
There are some recommendations for multitrackers in the Interfaces sticky, do you have any specific queries? What have you looked at so far?
Gibson LP Traditional, LP GT, LP Studio, SG Standard x2
Barber Tone Press > EHX Worm >TC Polytune > MXR Custom Badass 78 > EXH Glove > EHX East River Drive > Zoom G3 > TC Spark Mini Booster
Laney VC30
Marshall TSL602
Jet City JCA22H
My SoundCloud
Quote by GaryBillington
There are some recommendations for multitrackers in the Interfaces sticky, do you have any specific queries? What have you looked at so far?

Hi Gary,

I looked at the Zoom R8 8-track digital recorder on a shop website and asked them a few questions - they said it was what I wanted, but it looks complicated, and of course they are looking to sell the product.
I liked the look of it, but not sure if I would understand the workings......

Alf
That Zoom 8-track would be good for you. Or a Tascam, something like that.

Maybe a guitar processor with a built in drum machine like a Digitech RP 300, that also records digitally.

You'll find that those things are very easy to use and lots of fun.
Quote by 5_Years_Dead