Hi, i usually practise guitar sitting on a chair in a classical position holding my guitar on the left leg and keep my left foot on a stool as i found this position relatively easier to play. Of late, i have been noticing that i experience wrist pain and pain in the elbow when i practise for longer time, but i usually make it a point not to practise once i experience pain. Many lessons also suggest keeping your thumb behind the neck however while doing that i am forced to keep my wrist somewhat bent which i guess sometimes causes pain . Since i am new at playing guitar i keep constantly looking at the fretboard which hurts my neck n back as well. Can someone suggest me some tips on how to maintain good posture so that i don't experience pain and injury while playing guitar and remain tension free while practising. I just cannot forgive myself if i injure myself real bad and not being able to play guitar at all.
Cheers!
You're not alone.

Classical position works for electric guitar as well as acoustic. There's a reason for the 45 degree angle rather than horizontal. Additionally, it gives you a better angle for looking at the fretboard (though you're going to want to practice finding your notes withOUT looking at the fretboard -- you'll be surprised at how quickly you can do this). Hunched over is never good for your neck/back.