Hey guys, I just started playing guitar seriously this fall when I got to college (went from an hour or two on weekends for two years to 5+ hours a day for the past three months) and needless to say my parents were shocked when I got home at the improvements ive made. They have offered to buy me some new gear and I speculate I have a budget of around $500. I would like to have a set up in my dorm consisting of a small amp (under 20W) and maybe a few pedals or a multi effects unit or something. Do you guys have any recommendations for a low budget set up? I have an Agile Al 3000 that is absolutely gorgeous and plays phenomenally for the price, though that's another story . Please let me know what you guys would recommend.

As a side note, are there any videos or anything that could help me make some form improvements or improve my soloing? Ive taught myself up to this point and can pick up most songs pretty easily (can play solos to most GNR, Metallica, etc) but there are still a bunch of songs that give me trouble.
for practice amps, these are pretty hard to beat, especially at dorm volume levels. They make a classic model for more vintage sounds or a higher gain model, for metal and the like.

the base model
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Un-BYGuvnyY

the classic
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jf8lxKKj5VI

the x
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zV6Bfb_ZtNM
Someone is wrong on the internet. Only you can help.

Originally Posted by Tulkas
Stairway is required on any list of anything involving the words guitar or song, I believe Congress amended the constitution in order to put it into federal law.
I've never heard of those look interesting tho. Any experience with them (particularly the basic one)?
Last edited by ericw95 at Nov 25, 2013,