I was trying to replace the strings on my acoustic guitar and I think the strings I was putting on were too heavy. They were 13 medium. I don't know much about replacing strings on an acoustic guitar, this is my first time. I didn't really know what strings to get. I kept trying to put in the strings but the pegs kept popping out. I am going to buy regular size strings soon. It looks like the peg holes got a bit bigger near the bridge. Do you think the guitar is still fine and safe to use? Do you think the pegs will pop out when I play?

Last edited by EADGBE1 at Nov 26, 2013,
Please refer to this thread. We explained this a day or so ago: https://www.ultimate-guitar.com/forum/showthread.php?t=1624580

And using medium string on any acoustic, is not for the faint of heart.

Keep in mind that bronze has always been harder than rosewood, hence the grooves in your bridge.

Historically, you could try researching, "The Bronze Age". It's when the human race discovered and began using metallic tools and weapons.
I think Captaincranky is suggesting that the strings wore grooves in the peg holes of your bridge. FWIW, my Taylors all have the same thing from the factory. It's the way they were made.

When you replace the strings on an acoustic, it's important that the ball end of the string is snugged up against the underside of the bridge. If not, the pins will pop up as the strings are tightened. If the ball ends are properly seated against the bottom of the bridge, the pins will not pop. The proper technique is to insert the ball end of the string into the hole, then insert the peg slightly into the hole and gently pull on the string. You should feel the ball end of the string bottom out on the bottom of the bridge. Finish pressing the peg into the bridge - it doesn't need to be pressed super tight into the hole.