Greetings all,

I've had a Peavey Valveking 112 for quite some time now. Long enough for the tubes to go from a nice healthy orange glow to a sickly cold blue. It's time I replace them and I'm looking to you all for some guidance.

I'm not really asking "What tubes specifically should I put in there?" What I'd like to gain from you guys is the knowledge of what to look for in a tube. What specs/qualities do they hold that tell me what they are suited best for? So either first-hand experience or resources that I can use to educate myself would be great. I've done some google-fu and haven't found too much help, unfortunately.

The Peavey Valveking 112 has 2 6L6GC power amp tubes and 3 12AX7 preamp tubes. I will be using this amp mostly for Jazz. While I do dabble in blues, rock, metal, etc., I'm currently studying Jazz guitar in college, so if I need distortion for some of the heavier stuff I'm into, I'll just look into a pedal.

Thank you for your help.
I think the reason you haven't found much is that there isn't any sort of spec that exists in the way you're looking for. Tube specs are generally very similar (these are standardized devices, after all), and unless you have an unusual circumstance you can generally get away with any brand tube of the same type that's in your amp. Once you know which tubes you can use in your amp, that's pretty much it for spec. Anything after that generally comes down to what you think sounds good. I think what you need to look for are reviews and recommendations. Looking at specs won't help you choose a tube.

Here are the narrow confines of "spec" that you might want to know about.
-Preamp types. There's a range of preamp tube types, from 12AU7 to 12AX7. There's a page here that will tell you about those:
http://www.thetubestore.com/Gain-Factor
-Matched sections: don't bother. Some companies/tube dealers will try to get you to used a matched preamp tube for the phase inverter; there's no need for it in a guitar amp.