Hi, I am new to UG forums.

First of all, I am playing with a Fender Mexican Strat with Fender Custom Shop pick-ups out of a Fender Hot Rod Deluxe amp.

I would like more sustain when I am playing solos. Is getting a compressor pedal the only way to increase the sustain? I tried out the Boss compressor and didn't love the sound. Are there any just sustain pedals? Im not very knowledgable when it comes to effects pedals, any advice would be much appreciated. Thanks.
For natural sustain you'd wanna turn your amp up. However a Boss CS-3 would work in helping to make your notes last a little longer. It won't be noticeable straight away but if you hold a note and let it decay whilst turning the pedal on and off you can notice the volume difference.
"Air created the greenness. And once you've got something, that leads to otherness." - Karl Pilkington.
There's really no such thing as a sustain pedal. It's basically just compression.

There are a lot better compression pedals out there other than the Boss.

Diamond, Keeley, MXR, T-Rex and Barber all make excellent compressors.
Personally I'd suggest the Diamond Compressor or the Barber Tone press as they have the least effect on your tone.

You can also use a boost or overdrive pedal to increase sustain. Clean boosts like the Timmy or the Keeley Katana or the Durham Sex Drive or the Xotic RC Boost do a fairly good job of maintaining your original tone, while other boosts and overdrives will colour or add more gain to your sound.

Volume will ALWAYS add sustain.

You can also play with components on your guitar. Replacing the bridge or decking the tremolo can give more sustain. A new nut can do the same thing.

Check your technique as well it really is the most important factor of getting solid long sustaining notes.