I started playing electric guitar about half a year ago and I am thinking about upgrading my guitar and maybe my amp. I play a Squier bullet Strat through a Traynor DG10 amp. The clean on this guitar is fine, i'm not sure if it's the guitar or amp but the distortion is not very good, especially at higher volumes. My budget is about 700$ although I would prefer not to spend that much, I want to get another guitar, I've tried a few and the best feeling overall were the strats, The sound I'm going for is something like a les paul, especially for distortion, but I don't like glossy necked guitars and les paul necks were too thick and sgs feel really awkward to me. What other types of guitar would I prefer? Is having a good guitar or a good amp better? Could I get both for that amount of money? What do you suggest?
Having a good amp is generally better. And yes I'd say you can get both for that money, you can get a yamaha pacifica HSS strat which is similiar but better than your current guitar plus a good amp for that money. The pacifica also has a humbucking pickup, so it's much closer to a les paul sound than the squier.
I could live with that guitar not that amp. You can do a lot with that strat.
Yamaha Pacifica is great guitar (don't get EG model,that is cheap and useless one). And for amp I would suggest Laney Cub 12R.
The bad distortion sound is due to your amp (usually bad sound is due to your amp - your guitar would sound decent through a good amp). But I would maybe upgrade both.

If you want more like a Les Paul style distortion but like Strats feel-wise, get a Strat with a bridge humbucker.