Sorry if this is in the wrong place, I wasn't really sure where to put it

Since I started playing, I've been mostly a metal rhythm player. I run a 6505 into a recto 4x12 and im playing an ibanez rg550 with an emg 81. This works PERFECTLY for what i've been doing. But in the past few months i've been listening to more post-hardcore, punk etc and I want to start playing those styles as well.

Problem is my rig is geared for one thing mainly, brutal metal. I can't part with the 6505, i like it way too much.

what i'm asking for you guys to help me with is recommending guitars and pickups that would help me get close to a tone like this.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FXymqDN6qPg
1997 Ibanez RG550 w/ EMG 81 bridge - C standard
PEAVEY 6505
Mesa Rectifier slant 4x12
Last edited by BoneAndDream at Dec 1, 2013,
Any amp with a good clean tone- Fender, Vox, Peavey, Carvin- plus a touch of echo or chorus and a decent distortion pedal will get you that kind of tone.

The guitar doesn't matter as much- fiddling with your tone knobs & amp's EQ will get you the rest of the way. Still, I'd aim for something with the capacity for some single-coil type output, either with singles, P90s or splittable HBs. MiniHBs would be a decent option, too.

This will surprise nobody, but I'll recommend you look at Reverend guitars...
Sturgeon's 2nd Law, a.k.a. Sturgeon's Revelation: “Ninety percent of everything is crap.”

Why, yes, I am a lawyer- thanks for asking!

Log off and play yer guitar!

Strap on, tune up, rock out!
Quote by dannyalcatraz
Any amp with a good clean tone- Fender, Vox, Peavey, Carvin- plus a touch of echo or chorus and a decent distortion pedal will get you that kind of tone.

The guitar doesn't matter as much- fiddling with your tone knobs & amp's EQ will get you the rest of the way. Still, I'd aim for something with the capacity for some single-coil type output, either with singles, P90s or splittable HBs. MiniHBs would be a decent option, too.