Poll: SS or tube
Poll Options
View poll results: SS or tube
Solid State
1 25%
Tube
3 75%
Voters: 4.
Ive been playing for a few months on one of those cheap walmart amps and I want to upgrade. Ive seen a lot argument over tube amps and electric just what does each have to bring to the table? Any help is apreciated
every amp is electric.
I shouldn't post when drunk..

07 LTD MH400NT SD SH2/SH5
15 Jackson SLATHX-m 3-7 Slime green
Squier std tele (modded to hell)

Engl Powerball
Laney Ironheart 60h
Zilla Superfatboy 2x12 v30's

Pedals
First of, its a solid state (SS), not "electric" amp.

In general, I think a tube amp sounds better, and has the advantage over ss amps in most ways. Tube amps are warmer, and more natural sounding. You can push (basically turn the volume up) them hard to get a tighter, clearer overdrive/distortion then you can get from a ss. I also find that a tube amp is much more responsive than a ss amp. For example, you can change your tone quite a bit just by changing the attack (how hard or soft) of how you strum/pick your notes. A tube amp isn't as forgiving as a ss amp. Your mistakes will sound much clear and not be lost in the mush of the mix

A ss amp will not breakup like a tube amp, which can be a good thing. If you take something like a Roland Jazz Chorus, it has some of the most amazing clean tones you will hear, and will maintain it's clarity even at a high volume level, long past where most tube amps would start to naturally distort.

That being said, in 90% of situations, a tube amp would reign superior for tone. I'm not trying to say all ss amps are shit or anything thing, its just that they usaully just don't hold up when compared to a tube amp. You also have to look at cost. Most tube amps will be more expensive, and will incur more maintenance cost (tubes, biasing...etc). SS amps are arugably more reliable than tube amps, but as long as you're not be a r-tard and just throwing the thing around, you should be fine.