Hi everyone,

My fiancee is really in to guitars, and he has complained about his pickups in the past, so I wanted to look in to getting him new pickups for Christmas.

I have an idea of what he wants thanks to some digging I've done, but I don't know how to choose just one because as he explains, they all make very different sounds.

Is there such a thing as an adjustable pickup, and if so is there a brand you recommend? I didn't see anything when I looked but I'm probably not searching for the right thing.

Thanks!
Pickups can be a very personal choice. And without knowing more about what your finance plays- by which I mean musical genres and the gear played- then it would be very easy to foof up.

Without more info, in your situation, I'd figure out a budget, then buy a gift certificate for your fiancee's favorite music store.
Sturgeon's 2nd Law, a.k.a. Sturgeon's Revelation: “Ninety percent of everything is crap.”

Why, yes, I am a lawyer- thanks for asking!

Log off and play yer guitar!

Strap on, tune up, rock out!
If he's really into guitars he probably has dedicated guitars to different types of music. A blues guitar will have a different style of pickups then say a metal guitar would use. Maybe you can elaborate more on the guitar it will be installed on and what kind of music he will be playing on it.
^ +1 on the gift certificate idea.
Fender American Special HSS Stratocaster
Ibanez 1987 Roadstar II Deluxe
Yamaha THR10X
Marshall JCM900 SL-X
Ibanez WD-7 Weeping Demon Wah
TC Electronic Polytune
Seymour Duncan Tweakfuzz
DiMarzio (one of the best known pickup brands) has a cool "pickup picker" section on its official website

If you happen to know a little about guitars or your fiance's general music tastes you can get a pretty good idea of what to get him. If he complains about the pickups on one of his instruments in particular you can narrow it down even further

http://www.dimarzio.com/pickup-picker

/] 三方 [\
^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^