Can one get good distortion without the use of a distortion pedal(with amp)? I am a strict beginner and I have a Jay Turser PGA-10T amp with a Jay Turser electric guitar(stock pickups but will consider Seymour Duncan blackouts). I know the amp is cheap but for what it's worth it's all I got for now and I would love that distortion sound.....
Get a decent amp before the pickups. Peavey Vypyr 30 is a nice cheap amp for distortion sounds. There is no way around this
2002 PRS CE22
2013 G&L ASAT Deluxe
2009 Epiphone G-400 (SH-4)
Marshall JCM2000 DSL100
Krank 1980 Jr 20watt
Krank Rev 4x12 (eminence V12)
GFS Greenie/Digitech Bad Monkey
Morley Bad Horsie 2
MXR Smart Gate
It's a bad idea to spend the kind of dosh you need to spend on pickups with that amp. Amp should be your first priority. However a cheap distortion pedal wouldn't really set you back too much. Joyo makes some good ones, The Joyo California, extreme metal, pocket metal, or US Dream might keep you happy until you can get a better amp, and they're only ~$30.
RG351DX - Bridge Dragonfire Screamer, Mid+Neck Fender Hot Noiseless
Peavey Valveking 112 - Eminence GB128
AMT E1 > Joyo AC Tone > Dan'o EQ > Shimverb > Digidelay
Quote by MetalMan2014
Can one get good distortion without the use of a distortion pedal(with amp)?

with the right amp you can get great distortion tones without the use of a pedal

Quote by MetalMan2014
I am a strict beginner and I have a Jay Turser PGA-10T amp with a Jay Turser electric guitar(stock pickups but will consider Seymour Duncan blackouts).

it is hard to find info or clips of that amp. the amp is made by a music supply company that rebranded the PGA-10T under different badges.

the pics i have found seem to show a 'gain' knob on the amp. you will need to raise the gain knob to get more distortion.

usually distortion on these types of amps is not very good. they will usually sound buzzy and ill defined. this is due to the circuit, cheap components, and suboptimal speaker.