Hello I hope someone can offer me some advice, I apologize in advance if im posting this in the wrong section.

I am new to tube amps. I just bought a peavey 6505 +112 combo in hopes to get a nice brutal metal tone for example like, european death / black metal sound but i cant get it. I mess with the knobs and gain and such but all i get is a clean sound, ill make it louder but then all i get is a very loud clean sound, no distortion.

Im using a Schecter damien elite 6 with active EMG 81's

Im very inexperienced with tube amps so i dont know if its my amp or i need an effects pedal or what, any help would be appreciated
Umm... did you change channel from the clean one?
Things with strings:
Ibanez J.Custom, Prestiges, RG8, SR5 bass etc
LP's, Strat, Tele
Noiseboxes:
ENGL Retro Tube 50
5150 III 50W
Orange Terror Bass
The LED should be red for the lead channel, if it's green then you're on rhythm which won't get you that sort of tone.
Also if you've played with all the knobs and 'Post' is higher than about 3, turn that down before you change it over or you'll deafen yourself with some serious feedback...

The gain on the 6505 series is beastly, and almost all comes from the preamp tubes which means it doesn't have to be too loud to get a nice heavy distorted tone. It's definitely not a matter of needing pedals to get distortion.

Another thing to check is the batteries in your pickups, they may be running out and that's causing the issue, plug into something else or with another guitar to check this if you still can't get it going.

Incase you have absolutely no idea what you're doing - Lead channel, 'Post' is you volume and 'Pre' is your gain, 'Presence' adds a 'thickness' to your tone, while 'Resonance' acts like a second treble control and tightens it up a bit.

If all else fails, consult the manual which is available online, just Google it.

Last edited by Viscerus at Dec 9, 2013,
Not enough gain on the 6505+?! I think there's something fishy here.