Hi there,

Although Ive been playing for 20+ years, Ive always been somewhat "ignorant" and out of the loop when it comes to effects. I dont know whats good these days or what new and exciting toys are on the market.

MY MISSION:
I want to find a new all around a-z effects toy... mainly for at home use with earphones (however, being able to use it on a gig or during band practice is a bonus). Something small.

Id like to find something that has a huge variety of different effects that range from cleans to distortions to delay,chrous,phase,flange etc. to space sounds to drum sounds to other instrument sounds. As many different sounds as I can get.

- - My main sounds are a nice hendrix/fender clean and a heavy distortion for classic metal and shredding and a less gain distortion for classic rock type stuff. - -

I just want something that can give me My main sounds mentioned above.... PLUS ... a whole bunch of other Fun Effects that I can play with.

Remember, this is mainly for an at home toy to mess around and have fun with. My main goal IS NOT playing gigs or recording with it.

From the little research Ive done (not much yet), It looks like I want a Guitar Synth, as its the only thing that can create the sounds of other instruments etc. (like a keyboard synth).
The only problem is its theyre too expensive. $1500+. I need a special guitar to hold the special pickup, and then an effects/synth unit etc. I wish but, its a little too much.

So Ive been looking at some of the "line 6" pods. XT, X3, hd300, HD desktop or the live/floor models of the xt,x3,hd500.
During my research of the line 6 units, I hear other people say they suck or are amazing. Other people mention things like "Axe-FX" and other units.

At this stage, Im a little overwhelmed.

I went to 2 guitar shops and the people who work there werent much help.

Can anyone suggest something for what Im looking for? Something in the $500 and below price range.