Page 1 of 2
I'm a solo artist. I write relatively short songs with with slight degree of instrumental complexity. I have semi-complex chord progressions in my songs. Everything I do is very melodic. A lot of it is sort of somber. There is a focus on lyrics. I usually incorporate a couple of guitar tracks, a bass track, vocals, and sometimes percussion. I know my music is good. I believe my vocals are solid more often than not. My music is the one thing I am proud of in my life. If I submit my music to record companies, and they they recognize my talent, will they deem me unmarketable because I'm a 19 year old dude who doesn't have a band?
Last edited by Ponyexpress at Dec 20, 2013,
Go to youtube, make a channel, post your music. Go to facebook, make a page, post your music. Go outside and busk your music. Record your own demo cd's, hand them out to random people.

You never know who you're going to meet. I got asked by a country music producer to make music for him, but I turned it down because it involved me moving to Louisiana. I was busking outside my school and he loved my playing.
Most of the important things

in the world have been accomplished

by people who have kept on

trying when there seemed to be no hope at all
Quote by Ponyexpress
Yeah you're right, **** self-esteem and commitment to an art.

oh come on. you can't just say "I know my music is good". I mean, isn't that kinda, I don't know man. sorry.
banned
Quote by Ponyexpress
Yeah you're right, **** self-esteem and commitment to an art.

That's not self esteem, that's arrogance.
Quote by NotFromANUS
"Don't brutal your sister, Timmy!"

last.fm
Quote by Helloween4Ever
That's not self esteem, that's arrogance.

ah! that's the word I was looking for, thanks mate!
banned
How are you marketable?
^^The above is a Cryptic Metaphor^^

"To know the truth of history is to realize its ultimate myth and its inevitable ambiguity." Everything is made up and the facts don't matter.

MUSIC THEORY LINK