Hi, this is my first post.

I am new to home recording but I'm really loving every minute of.

I wish I would have started soon.

I have a problem that I can't seem to get past no matter how hard I try. When I try to record clean guitars everything goes well but when I venture in to recording distorted guitars I find it really difficult.

I'm not sure if it is my setup?

Currently I am running a USA Highway Series Tele into a Boss DS2 and / or 'You Dirty Rat Pedal' which then goes into my Fender Tweed Amp. I mike it up with a SM57 and / or AT4040 which goes into a Focusrite Saffire 6 USB interface. That goes into my PC and FL Studio 9 until it finally comes out of a pair of KRK Rokit 5's.

Now I think that should be enough to capture a great distorted sound but I just can't get it. I'm trying all kinds of different combo's but with no results.

Can anyone help me out?

This is a sample of what I am getting:

https://soundcloud.com/ste20man/terrible-distortion

Does this give anyone any ideas?

Thanks for your time in advance, Ste.
How are you micing the amp, what's your amp position? Honestly the tone sounds okay to me, but you might want to turn the gain down a little. You honestly don't need as much gain on these things as you might think.
All I want is for everyone to go to hell...
...It's the last place I was seen before I lost myself

Quote by DisarmGoliath
You can be the deputy llamma of the recordings forum!
I can't listen on this computer, but the first thing that strikes me is:

Telecaster + Fender Tweed =/= "big distortion." At least not in conventional terms, anyways.

I have a Tele and I like it. It's great for cleaner stuff, funk, blues, country, R+B and classic rock. Billy Squier used a Telecaster on his "Don't Say No" album and it sounds fantastic as a straight-up hard rock guitar. I'm pretty sure he used Marshall amps, though.