Im still fairly new to guitar, and i got a basic fender mim strat. I got a fender mustang I modeling amp that sounds awesome(prob not on high output, but thats fine because i just play my guitar in my room for the fun of it) Its only around 20watts i think though. Well, i want best for my sounds on my guitar and i read how awesome seymour duncans are. Theres the jazz neck pup & the jb bridge. Now i heard that there usually a waste of.money because if you play on a low watt modeling amp then theres no point really. It seems that both those pups go hand in hand so i could either
1) get both the jazz & jb
2) get jazz only (read that jb has a sound of its own and and is only for certain players)
3) get none because it wouldnt work out well
I play mostly blues and classic rock
So let me.know what you guy think
Thanks!
Hey dude. Welcome to UG.

I started out with a MIM strat and Fender modeling amp (GDEC).

Generally speaking it is safe to say that spending money on pickups with a low end modeling amp is a waste of money.

Now, that said - I think there is merit in upgrading your pickups if you are otherwise generally happy with your set up. Do you have a HSS or SSS strat?

The humbucker in the HSS MIM strat is pretty lousy so I replaced with a Duncan TB-11. (Custom Custom). Great pickup.

What I did was call Duncan's 800# and ask them what would work best for what I am looking for. They are great and even offered to advance swap me the TB11 for the JB I bought at GC. Don't get a JB. Do make sure you get a Trembucker (TB) version of whatever you end up with . A TB-5 or TB-11 or even and Alt 8 would work great.

There are other great brands out there too like DiMarzio, GHS, Bare Knuckle, etc.