Hi,

I'm pretty new to music theory but I've just been learning about equal temperament and just intonation. Also learnt about Bach, Liszt and the creation of augmented and diminished chords.

What I was wondering basically is are there chords in 12 TET that haven't yet been discovered/ given a name, in the same way that augmented and diminished chords have been?

If not is it possible to find new chords and harmonics in 31 TET or up?
Well, you could try using all three note combinations of the 12 notes. You may find out that most of the most pleasing sound ones are major, minor, diminished and augmented chords. And the others are extended chords with omitted notes.

But the thing is, if you for example started using 1/4 steps, we would just hear them as out of tune notes. You couldn't really build any good sounding chords using 1/4 steps.

We are able to name all chords. It's not rocket science.

You just name a chord by looking at the intervals in the chord. For example if we have notes Ab, C, Eb and G, you would just look at the intervals between the notes. What we have is root, major third, perfect fifth and major seventh. So we know it's an Ab major 7th chord (major triad + major 7th and Ab as the root note).
Quote by AlanHB
Just remember that there are no boring scales, just boring players.

Gear

Bach Stradivarius 37G
Charvel So Cal
Fender Dimension Bass
Hartke HyDrive 210c
Ibanez BL70
Laney VC30
Tokai TB48
Yamaha FG720S-12
Yamaha P115
Last edited by MaggaraMarine at Dec 15, 2013,
So quarter notes can't make nice sounding chords?

Is that because we're used to 12-TET or is that just how it is?
Quote by EddYerb
So quarter notes can't make nice sounding chords?

Is that because we're used to 12-TET or is that just how it is?

You probably could, but we wouldn't hear them as nice sounding because we are used to our way of splitting up music into 12 notes.