Hi! I am a guitar newbie and recently purchased my first electric, a used Fender Standard Strat (MIM 2005) from a store with a 30-day return policy. Though ignorant about what to look for in terms of quality, I haven't noticed any issues except for some slight wear on the first and second frets (see photo). Should this be a concern?

Just in case I wanted to check with some folks who know more than I do as I still have a few days to return if needed.

Thanks in advance!

Tim in Stockbridge GA
Attachments:
strat_frets.jpg
thats a pretty big divot ...... if you have the frets dressed they will get a lot smaller , I just priced a refret on my 1984 G&L Cavalier and with stainless steel frets it will cost 250.00 , so weigh it out , probably might consider sending it back
Hmmm... It's a tough call, because this is your money we are talking about. Dented and flattened frets can cause intonation and string buzz problems, but not always. Because wear is different from guitar to guitar, you could have a guitar with bad frets but no problems. However, should they become a problem then it's expensive and time consuming to fix; you will have to take it to a luthier.

If it's not causing problems (you can intonate it well and there isn't any buzz), you would probably be alright keeping it, just be wary about putting a capo on it because they exacerbate fret wear. If they're causing problems or if you use a capo regularly, I'd take it back. And, if the shop has any other used MIM Strats there, specifically without as much fret wear, I'd take it back. To me, color is secondary to fret problems, at least when buying used.
Actually, I go by Dave, but there are already too many Daves on this forum.

Fender MIM Stratocaster
Fender Jaguar Bass
Epiphone EJ200 Super Jumbo
Fender Excelsior 13w
Acoustic B300HD (with matching 1x12 cab)
BOSS BD-2W
NYC Big Muff Pi