Hi, I am just learning to play (at age 55) and would appreciate some recommendations on an electric guitar.

I recently purchased a used Fender Standard Strat (MIM 2005) at a store with a 30 day full refund policy. After purchasing, I read that fret wear can be a problem and saw that this axe has some dings on the first two frets. Though I can hear no issues at this time, to avoid the risk I will return the guitar while I can, probably tomorrow, and get another instrument.

My musical preferences are centered in classic rock / blues based rock but I do have eclectic tastes (r&b, hard rock, pop, jazz, classical, old school country...). I'm looking for something that is suitable with multiple styles and is something that I won't regret buying after I have learned more about the instrument. Ideally it will be easy to play also.

I paid $300 for the Strat, and it would be nice to stay around that price level, but I would consider going up to maybe $500 for a persuasive value proposition. :-)

I can get an LTD EC256 for $250, from what I've read that appears to be a good value.

All suggestions are welcome and appreciated!

Thanks in advance...
Yes, that is a pretty good price. I think that if you play them, really paying attention to the feel of the neck/other features, you will know if you have found the one. Those guitars will be quite different but I would just look around and play them. Telecasters or Stratocasters would fit well into your music choices and maybe a hss if you can find one. Almost every time I have purchased a guitar I wished I would have maybe spent a little more time deciding because it is easy to rush things, not to saying that I don't like my guitars but.....

Best regards,
Raconteurs Fan Guy