I'm a complete beginner, and I heard that there's no point of getting vocal lessons just yet, but to learn from youtube videos until I develop the correct technique and can sing in tune, and only pay for lessons when I want t go further with singing.

So I was wondering, has anyone got any recommended videos/exercises/websites to help me with singing? Where do I start? I am a COMPLETE beginner remember. The one thing I'm scared of is developing bad habits which will later take longer to correct. Soooo what's your advice?
I personally think you should do the exact opposite. Get a teacher to teach you the basics so you don't develop bad habits on your own, and then if you so choose you could go to video lessons after you understand the basics, or stay with a teacher. Why would you intentionally start out creating bad habits to have them fixed later down the line, when you could begin without them and then refine yourself? Seems foolish to me.
Yeah that's what I thought, it seems like the logical way of learning to sing would be to first develop correct technique under the guidance of a teacher. It's just some people I've talked to about this think otherwise.. I'm a self-taught guitarist (started lessons after over a year of playing, mostly for theory) but I've tried to explain to my parents that singing is different. After all, it's not as straight forward- you can't see what you're doing wrong as your vocal cords aren't exactly an instrument you can see...

Basically my parents think otherwise and are telling me to start off with youtube lessons and to show interest in singing first before paying a teacher. I don't want to intentionally create bad habits, I was just saying that's what I fear if I do start off with youtube :P I've recorded myself singing a couple of times and as far as I can tell it's quite nasal and out of tune a lot.