Well.. I'm kind of in a hard financial situation right now and I need to downgrade to just ONE, mid-tier, 750-900$ guitar with a fixed bridge so I can switch around my tunings.( I have been playing for 10 years and have amassed quite a collection of high end guitars in the past)

I've pretty much already settled my choice on midnight blue Epiphone Les Paul prophecy.

Does anyone here have one? Could you recommend it as a solid guitar with a good sound for metal ?( I'm not trying to go for anyone's sound. I'm more into getting "my" sound.) What i'm looking for is clarity. I play mostly metal rhythm guitar, some of it lightning fast (think rust in peace) and I need indivudual note for my rhythm shredding, and a powerful sound when a power chord is held. I need it to stay in tune, and feel solid on the stage as i will be doing a lot of gigging in 2014. I've been messing around with my roomate's stock Epiphone G-400 and i've been quite happy with the way it's sounding and playing, i was thinking this quality and feel would be perfect if it were a les paul with emg's.

I have owned guitars such as

ESP custom shop
several USA jacksons
several USA gibsons
several USA Fenders

so I know it's not going to live up to those standards

but still, looking at this guitar, it looks like I will get everything I need without having to upgrade anything, at a great price. i'm not too picky. If a guitar stays in tune, feels solid, has a half-decent feel after being set up, i'll be able to make it sound good. does epiphone deliver here?

Thanks any thoughts would be appreciated or suitable alternatives to this model in the same price range.

TL;DR - Looking for a good guitar with

-Thick 50's LP style- Neck
-Good sustain
-Note Clarity
-Good intonation
recommend this?
Last edited by trashbeast at Dec 22, 2013,