hey guys

what exactly is an FX loop and how do you 'create' one? sorry for the newb question but I'm a bit new to this and most people i know seem to use one. I know that you require an amp with an FX input and output to create one...is it just a different 'circuit' of pedals one uses to make certain effects sound 'sharper' or more clearly than if they were all connected in series to the amp? Which pedals are classically put in the loop? And do you simply choose the pedals you want, connect them to each other and then into the amp FX output and input? (somehow this feels like a stupidly basic question which I should know so bear with me )

also Merry Christmas!
A Muse man through and through ...

bite me
FX is just a short way of saying "effects". Simply put, an effects loop on an amp can be serial (series) or parallel. When it's in series, it's a loop that will usually be placed after the pre-amp and before the power-amp section of the amplifier. Parallel loops usually work alongside the pre-amp and create a separate signal path that leads into the power-amp. Serial loops are more common in guitar amps.

What does any of this mean? Some effects like volume, modulation (these are your chorus, flangers, phasers etc.), delays and reverbs will typically go into the serial effects loop. This is because the pre-amp section of the amp plays the part in creating the gain/drive/distortion and some of these effects don't sound desirable when putting them before distortion.

Reverb and delay becomes a washy mess when put before an amp rather than the loop, but this is a desirable sound for some and there is no wrong or right way to do it.
"Air created the greenness. And once you've got something, that leads to otherness." - Karl Pilkington.
Last edited by Lavatain at Dec 24, 2013,
Quote by KnightOfCyd
hey guys