Hi guys,

I have been playing the guitar for almost 6 months now. When i first started, i was told that the best way to get good at it or learn how to play was to go straight into learning songs. Since then i can now play 5/6 songs. It has been a good experience as the 5/6 songs each covered different aspects of guitar playing such as bar chords, picking, different variation of strums etc. However, i have major concern.

I want to be able to one of those guys that can sit with a guitar and whip out something that sounds decent. I also want to be someone who makes their own songs using the guitar. I never really learnt much theory but went straight into playing songs. Will i be able to attain the level i want to reach, by continuously playing and learning different songs? Although, i don't much guitar theory (i do know piano theory like scales and chords and how to make chords out of scales..guess, the same thing can be applied with the guitar? theory is theory?), i guess i can make the chord shapes of chords (learnt from playing the songs i already know), despite not actually knowing the name of the chords i have been playing (Just been following tabs).

I hope i managed to explain myself, clearly. Any suggestions, guys?

thanks!
you need to learn a variety of shapes (scale, chord, arpeggio) if you want to be any good at improvising. for everything else, you can get away with just simply being "aware" of the basics of music theory.

i was like you, i played piano for ten years before starting guitar. it wasn't until after several years of playing guitar that i felt like i needed to pay conscious attention to theory again.
Quote by archerygenious
Jesus Christ since when is the Pit a ****ing courtroom...

Like melodic, black, death, symphonic, and/or avant-garde metal? Want to collaborate? Message me!
Quote by vIsIbleNoIsE