I've been playing guitar for about 20 years. I've mainly played lead and was often the only guitarist in the band. I focused my attention on the Joe Satriani, Steve Vai, Paul Gilbert and the the type for my main lead techniques when I was young. Mainly very fast alternate picking and legato type runs, etc.

Over the past decade I've been much more influenced by blues and other styles and my speed has drastically slowed to incorporate better phrasing, more feeling, etc. I still through in fast runs but they are usually short and more to add a little pizaz to the solo then the majority of the solo. I really don't have the muscle stamina in my hands anymore to do long, non-stop, 10+ bar top speed legato or alternate picking runs.

I've got the next two weeks off with my kids for the holiday break and I've pledged to myself to built back some of my speed for alternate picking. I just want to have the option in my tool belt to break out with some real old school shredding.

Let me tell you, this is really hard. I've scoured the internet for lessons that focus on the basics, how to hold the pick, angle of attack, keeping the arm loose and focusing all of the movement on the wrist. I feel like I hit a brick wall. I decided to go really, really slow and make sure I hit each note clearly and consistently to try and relearn better technique and commit it to muscle memory.

I can't tell you how sloppy my technique has become and I never realized it.

Has anyone ever done anything like this and have any advice or suggestions to help me expedite relearning some of these faster chops. Or, is it really back to square one and I have to relearn the speed techniques from basically scratch?
Just like with everyone else there really isn't anything anyone can do that will help that much; you're just going to have to put in the hours.
R.I.P. My Signature. Lost to us in the great Signature Massacre of 2014.

Quote by Master Foo