I made a thread a little while ago regarding a potential pickup swap (gibson 57's into a semi hollow or LP). I actually think I have a good deal on a used Agile 3100 and may put those pickups in it. That's not my question though

Everywhere I am reading, everyone says to change the pots/caps/electronics. This is probably a dumb question, but how come this change of electronics is made with the new pickups? I've been playing for a long time - maybe 10 years, the first 4 with awful gear - but with a 3-4 year stretch of not playing much and I'm just getting into a place where I'm really into it again and have the money to get good gear so have a lot of questions. I don't even know what a pot is
Just a guess, but maybe the electronics in the Agile are of poor quality.
A pot is what you use to control your volume and tone. Short for Potentiometer.
http://www.beavisaudio.com/techpages/Pots/
Last edited by CodeMonk at Dec 30, 2013,
That is what I considered as well, however I see posts in lots of forums saying this not just for Agile's, but almost any "budget" guitar. I've mostly been comparing high end Epiphone's (standard, Les Paul Tribute etc) with Agiles and low end Gibsons for an LP, and a multitude of 335 style guitars, from epiphone, hagstrom, heritage, ibanez, you name it and pretty much for anything except Gibson, I hear the answer that if making a pickup upgrade you need to do the electronics as well.
Well, you don't really NEED to upgrade the electronics, but its generally not a bad idea for lower end guitars.
For instance, Most but the high end Epiphones have long been known to have a failure prone pickup selector switch.
A full electronics upgrade, in most cases, parts costs would be less than $20 - $25US anyway.
(Not including pickups).
Not a bad investment IMO.