Hey guys. I'm playing an Epiphone Les Paul Standard with dragonfire screamers through a peavey vypyr 15. I heard that with modeling amps pickup swaps are virtually nonexistent. Would the jump to actives of some sort change my tone? Or is the modeling myth true? They're good pickups, on par with Duncans, so I'm not sure going to something like a jb would change my tone anyways. But would actives do it??
Just wondering if its worth it.
In your case I'd spend money on a new amp rather than new pickups. I don't think you would notice any difference in tone with a pickup swap.
you can tell a slight difference, but like was said a new amp would serve you much, much better
2002 PRS CE22
2013 G&L ASAT Deluxe
2009 Epiphone G-400 (SH-4)
Marshall JCM2000 DSL100
Krank 1980 Jr 20watt
Krank Rev 4x12 (eminence V12)
GFS Greenie/Digitech Bad Monkey
Morley Bad Horsie 2
MXR Smart Gate
When I started playing electric, I bought a Korg Px4 portable digital modeler and 2 guitars: a Dean Special Select EVO and a Dean Time Capsule Cadillac. It was difficult for me to tell the difference in their tone. Ditto the guitars I bought subsequently. I could tell the difference, but it took effort. (Differences between HBs and singlecoils were still obvious, though.)

When I got my first real amp 3 years later- a Fender HRD tube combo amp- the differences between my guitars' tones became glaringly obvious. I could hear that the EVO's pickups were less refined. Noisier. NOT in a good way.

Except in the best of the best equipment, digital modeling tends to make pickups sound "samey."
Sturgeon's 2nd Law, a.k.a. Sturgeon's Revelation: “Ninety percent of everything is crap.”

Why, yes, I am a lawyer- thanks for asking!

Log off and play yer guitar!

Strap on, tune up, rock out!