I just bought a Peavey Classic 30 112 at the local GC for $300 two days ago. Used, but not a bad deal. It played great in the store with a PRS plugged in. Played fine when I got it home with my 69 Tele through it. Well, today I was playing and noticed that there was some sort of buzzing in the back going on, and a little on the G string also. Only when I play those 2 strings though. I tightened all screws and everything. It's a diff rattle. almost like when you shake a light bulb and the spring rattles? but louder. Anyone know how to fix this?
Well I just looked on their site and the peavey classics have a real spring reverb tank in them. Basically, in the back of your amp there are some big long springs which are used to create the reverb effect and you could be hearing them shake around a bit.

It may also be tube rattle cause by a dud.

I am no expert on the subject but it could be any number of things. I would first try and isolate the source of the rattle if you can. Try swapping tubes out 1 by 1 to see if the problem fixes. Just how loud is the issue? Would you hear it if you turned the amp up to a reasonably loud volume?
I feel as though reverb tank rattle couldn't be so loud as to cause annoyance if you were playing at any half decent volume, but correct me if I am wrong. Google things like "reverb tank rattle peavey classic" and see if anyone else has had an issues and managed to fix it I suggest.
Well, I may be paying WAY too much attention to this. I'm very used to Solid state amps, so that rattle may be somewhat normal with those springs, or it from what I'm seeing, since it is used, I may just need to swap a couple tubes out. This is my first tube and I have yet to take it out on the road with me. It won't see a stage until this weekend, so I have been playing it at bedroom level. I just turned it up and it isn't as bad. kinda drowns in the "distortion".
Yeah, playing louder will make that noise go away