I bought a used Yamaha Pacifica 112J last summer for $100. I mainly bought it because i wanted to practice refretting on guitars but it was also a really good deal.

The main components of the guitar are actually quite nice, its is a solid alder body, maple neck and rosewood fret board, with a transparent green finish. Buying the raw materials alone to even build from scratch would be more expensive than $100. So, Instead of just re-fretting this cheap knock off strat i am gonna do a complete rebuild and pimp it out.

This build will be done using mostly tools that are cheap and readily available, so that people who don't have access to $expensive$ tools can still achieve the same mods.

I have done mods in the past but this is my first time doing modifications to this extent.

I will try to post in a step by step order so others can learn from my mods and my mistakes.

I originally tried to post this on another forum but my account was suspened....

Here are pics of the original guitar:

This first thing I did was take apart the guitar and sand down the body to remove the original finish

Front face sanded

I did a rough trace out for a floyd rose, using templates from the floyd rose website

Back face sanded

I did not completely sand the back because i plan on painting it all black anyway
I was about to say I really liked the green finish

Will be interesting to see how a refretting affects a cheap guitar. Don't neglect the nut either.

I think the biggest issue you will encounter is intonation. Most of these cheap things have terribly positioned bridges/odd scale lengths.

Looking forward to seeing how this turns out!
Quote by SlackerBabbath
My ideal woman would be a grossly overweight woman who would happy go jogging, come home all sweaty and let me put my dick under her armpit while she shuffles a pack of cards.

Stay classy, pit.
Now here is the fun part
i ordered these following parts throughout the months of NOV and DEC