Hi! I just want to ask are there any guitarist out there who plays metal using fingernails?because Im a classical guitarist and Im more comfortable playing with my fingers than a pectrum so right now Im playing metal guitar with my fingernails. (Question)

*are there any positive and negative side about this?
(as what I have heard there are techniques in metal which really require a pick so am I missing something here? because the way I see it its very much the same..so anyone can shed a light? especially if there are also guitarist out there who plays metal using fingernails..

Thanks
I'm not too sure how you're going to be able to do downpicking, or guitar solos, or palm muted stuff by fingerpicking...
Quote by luxeion
i keep asking my dad for wood. but he keeps getting annoyed (he's working on a house). and i'm too young to go outside.

actually its very similar though, Im kinda using my nails like a pick..and when I do solo leads I use free-strokes like Im playing classical guitar.
Whatever works for you, man!
Quote by luxeion
i keep asking my dad for wood. but he keeps getting annoyed (he's working on a house). and i'm too young to go outside.

Is just that there are some guitarist that I met and they recommended playing with a pick..and when I use a pick is like my hands were not used playing with. it has been 3 months, and I decided to myself I much more comfortable playing with my nails so I just wanna ask if there are downfalls if I do this :/..hmmm any of the classical guitarist out there? who also use their fingernails in playing metal?
I might be able to help you as I started in Metal and then went to Classical. I still enjoy both very much though.

Anyway, there are only two players that come to mind when I think of fingerstyle in Metal and they are Joe Haley of Psycroptic and Kiko Loureiro of Angra. Both use hybrid or fingerstyle, although very different contexts (Psycroptic = Technical Death Metal, Angra = Progressive Power Metal).

Kiko Loureiro: