i am not too good with theory but i recently became very interested in getting a different type of sound from my solos and i was wondering if it is possible to combine different modes in different keys. for example, if im playing in the key of Am, could i combine A aeolian with E phrygian dominant? i have noticed that different positions sound better together than others. if this makes sense theoretically, what other combinations fit together? i hope i dont sound like an idiot lol
What do you exactly mean by combining? Mix notes from many scales? Well, it would probably end up sounding just very chromatic.
Last edited by Elintasokas at Jan 3, 2014,
what i mean is that the notes in A aeolian are ABCDEFG, and the notes in E phrygian dominant the same with the exception that the G is raised a half a step. so what im wondering is that if i were to just play E phrygian shapes combined with A aeolian shapes but not play the G#, would that make sense?
So you will just be playing the notes ABCDEFG? If so then you're just playing A minor.

The shapes would then be all the same. The shapes are just smaller parts of the larger A minor shape which is those same A minor notes (A B C D E F G) across the whole fretboard.
Si
gotcha! thanks, i was getting kinda confused. i will continue to learn as much as i possibly can, i barely started trying to teach myself theory a couple months ago
In this case I would call E phrygian dominant the A harmonic minor scale. But yeah, maybe learn some more theory first. Fancy scale names are fancy but they don't work everywhere. And many times there's a more simple explanation of using some notes than using an "exotic" scale. If you want to play the G#, you can play it. But you don't need to call it a different scale. You could just call it an accidental. It's all about the sound, not the scale name.
Quote by AlanHB
Just remember that there are no boring scales, just boring players.

Gear

Bach Stradivarius 37G
Charvel So Cal
Fender Dimension Bass