Hey guys, first thread, actually made an account to ask this question; I've been playing for 8 years now, I'm 18, and I went through the newbie bloody fretboard phase already, and have never got actual watery callouses, rather the skin just rips off. I've played bass for five years and went through the usual newbie stuff with my right hand as well, but yesterday, after a seemingly normal practice session, the playing fingers of my right hand started to form liquid filled callouses, and continued to swell for a time after I noticed them. I then looked at my left hand and saw I had developed a small, watery callous on my left index finger. Now, I'm not an idiot who's going to shuck the whole thing off and go playing in a hospital, but I'm just wondering what gives?
All I know is that the fun of peeling/popping those is what initially encouraged me to practice more.
Gross. I never got the whole bleeding, nasty puss or anything else disgusting like that. Thank god. I just started practicing atleast half an hour every day and didn't stop, now I have lovely neat callouses and I don't care to know what's inside them or any other parts of my fingers.

Probably helped that I when I started out, I had a really good teacher who guided me away from sloppy techniques that damage your hands/fingers.
Vinland, Vinland Über Alles

"Why do they still call me a warlord? And mad? All I want to do is create the perfect genetic soldier!"
Quote by neidnarb11890
those are blisters, dog.

I thought the description sounded all kinds of wrong extra gross.
Vinland, Vinland Über Alles

"Why do they still call me a warlord? And mad? All I want to do is create the perfect genetic soldier!"
I played stand up bass for two years, that give me actual blood blisters. One time during an important gig, the flesh on the side of my thumb that anchors on the neck peeled off. Guitar callouses/ blisters are nothing compared to bass.
Those are blisters, not callouses