Hey all, as the title says, Im an absolute beginner...no experience with guitars really. I love the Blues and over the past couple of years, I've been slowly inspired to just get a good starter electric guitar and small amp to play around with. I'm not trying to be the next superstar :-).

I'm 47 and really don't have a budget decided yet, but cheaper would be better!

I've been reading the forum here and have seen some suggestions for guitars. I like the Epiphone Les Paul Special II LTD I saw recommended, a Yamaha etc. I guess one of my main concerns is where to go to buy one? I live in San Antonio, Texas and we are the armpit of the state. I have no problems traveling to Austin if need be to find a reputable store. I'm afraid of being ripped off as an absolute newbie

I like the fact that the Epiphone LP is around $200. Is it a quality guitar and will it hold its tuning or will I be fighting that constantly?

Also, just to increase the difficulty level, I'm fairly certain that Im a lefty. Ive picked up guitars before and it simply does not feel right to me, but if I flip it over, It feels more natural. If I cannot find a LH guitar, can I assume that they can string it 'backwards'?

Everyone always asks what to get....how about what to avoid? Thanks!

BP
Last edited by BluesPowered at Jan 4, 2014,
Moved to Electric Guitar
But boys will be boys and girls have those eyes
that'll cut you to ribbons, sometimes
and all you can do is just wait by the moon
and bleed if it's what she says you ought to do
Quote by BluesPowered
Hey all, as the title says, Im an absolute beginner...no experience with guitars really. I love the Blues and over the past couple of years, I've been slowly inspired to just get a good starter electric guitar and small amp to play around with. I'm not trying to be the next superstar :-).