Since I started playing guitar I am always looking around for tones or guitars I like. I own a PRS SE EG (SSS) and a Fender 72 Telecaster deluxe reissue at the moment who I both really love. I'm considering buying a 3rd good guitar but I'm getting really lost now. My first thought was to look around for a guitar that will complement my current collection so I can cover most of the sound spectrum. With that in mind I set a budget of around €700 and started looking around. I didn't like most p90's equipped guitar and because I own a SSS PRS and a HH Tele I thought some kind of darker sounding guitar would be a nice addition. I did tons of research and discovered most Gibsons are not for me. I tested a Fret-King Standard Eclat and it was a quality guitar. However, I didn't have the feeling 'YESSS, this will be my next guitar' so I didn't end up buying it. I kept my eyes open and somehow I saw the following video and the tone you'll hear at 3:52-4:00 was something I had in mind. I really liked it. However, after that the tones gets dirtier. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VLdU1ITvkzI

I did some more research and it definitely could be a winner. Unluckily they are (almost) not available in Holland but it isn't insuperable.

Then another problem occurred. I was speaking with some other guitarists and a couple of them have multiple guitars with a similar tone (multiple Ibanez, multiple Jaksons) because it is just what they are looking for (they do play metal and hard rock tho, so the clean sound is less important). That made me think… I wondered if it isn't a better idea to upgrade my PRS SE EG. Originally I am a Strat guy and I'm playing on a €400 euro SSS guitar now. The other hand is that I really love that guitar so there is not a real need to upgrade it.