I'm 99 percent sure I'm over thinking this, but in case I'm wrong, I could really use some advice.

For years, I've tried very hard to teach myself how to play the guitar, without actually learning how to play any songs. Lots of scales, modes, theory, excreta. Kept telling myself I don't want to learn to play like a certain guitarist, I want to create a uniquely "me" sound. Well years have passed, and I apart from breaking down and learning a few tabs here and there, I consider myself to be the greatest guitarist in the world who can't actually play a song. (I'm kidding of course, I know I'm a newb and I know I suck, but I do have a better than average technique for a newb, just a very poor library of learned songs.)

Now i want to learn to play some songs, but the theorist (and slave to logic) in me keeps getting hung up on new songs. Here is my problem. I don't want to know that in song xyz I'm going to play the "A" string 5th fret followed by "A" string 7th fret. My first question is always: Why? I get the impression most people learn to play that way because it's just how it's done.

Does anyone (well any sane person) actually take apart a piece of music, analyze it, and say:
"The song writer plays such and such notes because they in the the key of x, and they are soloing using the notes found in the zxy scale, with key changes here and there?"
OR
"This song is the key of "x" so the music starts on the tonic "I", then proceeds to move to a minor second "ii", which has a strong chord lead into the Dominant V."

Do I just get over the fact that to learn I need to just play and worry about the theory later, or is there benefit to knowing what's going on behind the curtain during the initial learning phases?